Welcome to York House Society website. The York House Society is Twickenham's oldest amenity society. It was formed in 1924 from the committee of councillors and local residents that was originally set up in 1922, to persuade the then Urban District Council to buy York House for conversion to a town hall.

York house home page

2022 MEETING PROGRAMME

Subject to Government and Council  Covid19 Guidelines meetings will be in the Terrace Room at York House or by Zoom. For information email the Hon Sec Susan Chappell at yorkhousesociety@gmail.com
Meetings start at 7.30pm

Friday 7th January – Twelfth Night Dinner - regrettably cancelled due to Covid concerns

Friday 4th February – Nicholas Rogers AM for South West London on his first ten months at City Hall

Friday 11th March – Cllr. Geoff Acton – two years as the Mayor in a pandemic

Friday 10th June Celebrations of the formation of the York House Society in 1922
Afternoon: Richmond College Art & Music students.
Evening: Summer Reception for Local Community Organisations with the new Mayor of LBRuT.
Food and drink included in the ticket price

Friday 9th July – AGM and Turners House – a Jewel in St Margarets.

Sunday 4th September pm: Open House TBC

Friday 7th October – Celia Johnson – The history of Eel Pie Island and its museum.

Friday 11th November – Simon Shelly from the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) on supporting good international relations. 

Guided Walks about York House Gardens:
Meet at the Statues at 10.00am on: Friday 18th March, Friday 13th May, Friday 15th July and Friday 14th October
The gardens and the tennis courts are open every day except Christmas Day and New Years Day.


The Sunken Garden at York House